This year’s National Games, which includes more than 3,500 Special Olympics athletes from the 50 states and District of Columbia, will be held July 1-6 in Seattle, Washington. Special Olympics Chicago is excited to send eight athletes to Seattle this year. Allison Berggren (Kosciuszko Park, Aiden Fallon (Norwood Park), Shawl Logan (Eckhart Park), Justin Mayer (Norwood Park), Jamie McDowell (Gage Park), Michael Rudd (Mt. Greenwood Park), Ellen Winkler (Marquette Park) and Johnathan Wrenn (Wells Park). In addition to the eight athletes, swimming coach Nikolai Torres (Kelvyn Park) will travel to Seattle as well. The National Games represent inclusion and acceptance in sports that not only these eight athletes showcase, but Special Olympians across the country. We are proud of each of these eight athletes for the journey they took to get here and wish nothing but the best. As Matt O’Shea, president of Special Olympics Chicago nicely put it, “There individuals represent Chicago on a national stage. Their dedication, hard-work and determination are an inspiration to all of us.”

Our athletes who will be competing in the upcoming National Games pictured with Olympic Gold Medalist, Kendall Coyne.